The Debate – Fix or Purchase?

I am currently on the hunt for a new sewing machine. Actually, I’m on the hunt for a used sewing machine, just one that is new to me. I have a sewing machine already. My grandma found one in her garage about 3 years ago and passed it on to me. I’m guessing it’s about 15-20 years old, based on the “bisque and brown” color scheme.  All metal parts, enough of the basic function that I need and a few extras. It really is a great little machine. At least, it would be if I could get the darn thing to work. Every time I try to sew with it, it goes smoothly at first. Then, after about 10 minutes, the whole thing starts seizing up on me. It sews about 4 or 5 stitches, then freezes every time. I have to usually pull the fabric out, realign everything and fix the tension (again), and try again, only to have it freeze up AGAIN. In other words, I can’t get anything done with it at all. I know it definitely needs a tune up and a good oiling, but my mom pointed out there is the strong possibility that the whole thing will have to be taken apart and put back together to get fixed. In other words, EXPENSIVE.

The American in me keeps saying that for the price I could probably get it fixed for, I could buy a whole new machine on sale at Joann. Again, I don’t need anything super fancy, just basic function with maybe a couple of extras. I’m no sewing connoisseur, nor do I pretend that I need the sewing machine of one. But, the whole idea of throwing this one out only to replace it with some inferior piece of crap that’s filled with plastic and will probably break in 5 years leaves a bad taste in my mouth. If I’m going to buy a new one (again, new to me), I would rather buy an older one with high quality parts that someone has loved for a long time. If you think about it, even if I spend $200 on a used machine, it’s probably going to be a whole lot better than buying a $200 new machine. Plus, the main purpose I want a sewing machine for is to start repurposing items I already have into fresh, new, and better fitting things for my home. I want to go more green by making sandwich bags and higher quality shopping bags than the ridiculous “canvas” bags that King Soopers sells. If I mainly want to use the machine to make used things into new, then why would I buy a brand new machine to accomplish that? Finding a nice used machine that needs a good home sounds like a much better option for me.

Originally this post was going to be about my hunt for a new machine. But as I sit here typing, I wonder if I am still being hypocritical by wanting a “new to me” machine. Should I finally just buckle down and get an estimate on my old machine? Again, even if it’s $150 in repairs, it’s still a much better machine than the $150 machines at the chain stores. And so the debate continues: do I fix my old one or find a used one? My hunt will continue until I figure this all out. In the meantime, I hear some children calling my name that need a shower very, VERY badly.

About butterflyemily

I'm a stay-at-home mom who loves to be creative. Recently I decided to live my life using more recycled materials and green living ideas.
This entry was posted in Stewardship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Debate – Fix or Purchase?

  1. Jase says:

    They do say, that things made today are of a lot less quality than “Back in the day”
    But then sometimes its nice to get something new, Hmmmm decisions~decisions???????

Leave a Reply

