The Debate is Over!

Well, I decided what I wanted to do about the sewing machine situation. As I was writing my post about whether or not to find a “new to me” machine, I couldn’t help but feel bad for the machine sitting in my closet. After all, I had already had it for a couple of years and never loved on it, never really used it. When I did try to use it, I usually just cursed at it a lot, never really taking into account that it needed a good tune up before it would work again.

I always drive past this place in my town on the main road, and it has always caught my eye for some reason. When I decided to fix my poor little machine, I gave them a call to make sure they service machines like mine. Of course, they did, and the owner was more than happy to have me and my two children pay a visit to his shop. When we showed up, I found out not only does he own the store, he also is the only employee. Vacuum cleaners were on display everywhere with price tags, and the room smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke, reminding me of the days I spent at my Grandpa’s house as a kid. When he took my machine, he even wrote it on an old-fashioned work ticket, instead of putting it into some new-fangled computer and printing carbon copies and tons of paperwork. The place felt old to me, obviously open for at least a couple decades. In other words, this guy knew his stuff because he had obviously been doing this for a long time. I felt more than happy to leave my machine with him, and at 4:30 in the afternoon with a cheerful smile he bade me goodbye.

When I used to work in the service industry, the timing of how anything would get done was always up in the air. Would the techs have enough time? When would the parts get in? And would they fix it? We had people waiting for 2 or more weeks sometimes to get their orders filled. (In hindsight, this was a really bad company to work for, in so many ways). So you can imagine my surprise when I received a phone call at 11am the next morning from the friendly man at the repair shop. “Miss Emily, your machine is ready! I oiled it up and readjusted everything for you and cleaned it all up. It works wonderfully!” My jaw practically dropped. Less than 24 hours and it was finished!?! I was so excited, it was all I could do to contain myself from making a trip immediately instead of waiting until my kids were dressed and ready to appear in public. We finally made it around 4pm, and I was ecstatic to see the machine. He had definitely cleaned it up and showed me how to adjust the tension if I needed it. He also pointed out that the last time I used it I had left the needle in backwards. (Oops!) He sewed a sample for me and I am incredibly impressed at how much better the machine runs. My total was $49.95, which to me is a worthy investment to make an older machine work like new instead of buying a new one.

I am so excited about this little adventure for so many reasons. 1) I was able to use something I already had instead of buying something new to replace it, only to put this one in the landfill and waste away. 2) I was able to support an independent shop owner, which is so crucial in this economy. Our country was built on people like this man, doing honest, good work for a good price because it’s what he loves. When I am need of help with my vacuum, I will be sure to pay him a visit again. 3) I finally have a working sewing machine and can start on all of the projects I want to do! Stay tuned to my blog as I will start posting some of the projects I have in mind very, very soon.

About butterflyemily

I'm a stay-at-home mom who loves to be creative. Recently I decided to live my life using more recycled materials and green living ideas.
This entry was posted in Stewardship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

