21 Day Organization Challenge – Day 2

As I said yesterday, I started the 21 Day Organization Challenge on A Bowl Full of Lemons. Today was Day 2, organizing the computer desk. Again like yesterday, I don’t think it’s what I would have chosen, but it was definitely a mess. (Maybe she chose this one early so we could all have nice organized places to blog from and tell her about our progress!) šŸ™‚ Anyways, here is the awful awful awful before:

See? I told you it was terrible. Fortunately 90% of the stuff on this desk had homes other places, so it was just a matter of tidying up. (My apologies for my goofy looking torso and legs in the monitor!) Here is the after:

A couple of things I changed here: 1) Notice I dropped the dual monitor setup and sprung for the single monitor instead. It’s taking some getting used to, but I really like it (mostly I’m just sitting more to my left than I am used to.) The other monitor was helpful when it worked (which hasn’t been for months) and when I wanted to watch a show while I was working (which I recently quick working through my Etsy shop). 2) I turned the printer to face me instead of the door to the right. It fit fine where it was before, but kids would constantly hit it when going in and out the back door, and it even got rained on once or twice. It’s much better in it’s new home. I’m excited to have the scanner cleaned off so I can get some of my prints for Project Life ready! 3) I HAD to wipe everything down. It was all so dusty and gross! Some of the ink my kids stamped on the desk is not removable, but I figure since I’ve had this desk since I was eight we’re in pretty good shape.

So Day 2 is done. I also am doing some overhaul of my counter space and it’s looking quite lovely. I’m just clearing out the stuff that I want to give away and need to give back to people and I should be done with that project too! Pictures to come.

Tomorrow is one of the first days that I’m really excited about – cleaning out the Tupperware cabinet! I’m thinking about actually emptying out all of my lower cabinets and starting over from scratch. I have a lot of items to get rid of and this would be the perfect time to go through it all. We shall see how it goes!

 

About butterflyemily

I'm a stay-at-home mom who loves to be creative. Recently I decided to live my life using more recycled materials and green living ideas.
This entry was posted in organization/cleaning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

