21 Day Organizational Challenge – Day 2.5

As I wrote during the last two days, I’m trying out the Bowl Full of Lemons 21 Day Organizational Challenge. I was really happy with days 1 and 2, conquering my junk drawer and computer desk. It actually got me on a roll and I cleaned up all of the kitchen surfaces yesterday, gave back things I borrowed and gave away things I don’t use. I found a great home for my juice Master juicer and my Tupperware cereal box modular mates.

Today I was supposed to start on the Tupperware cabinet, but I decided to take a little detour. The cabinets will get done this weekend. The more I looked at how nice and clean the kitchen was, the more of an eyesore the bar in between the kitchen and the living room was. 50% the main level of our home is the living room/kitchen/dining area. It’s where we spend most of our time, and only dividing factor in the whole room is the bar. Naturally, it becomes a catchall for everything that needs to be “out of the way” or “out of reach of children.” We have cleaned it off countless times only for clutter to return, but I am crossing my fingers that the 50th time is a charm and it will stay clean. We shall see. Here is the “before” shot:

Everything from scrapbook pages to wrapping supplies to empty boxes sat on this bar. It drove me absolutely crazy! Fortunately, like the computer desk, most of these items already had a home somewhere else, so it was just a matter of putting things back where they belonged. A LOT ended up in the trash and a few knick knacks ended up in the “donate” box. Here is the “after”:

Aaaaahhhhh…. what a relief! It looks so much better all cleaned off and tidy again. The mailer in the back was actually in the “before” shot as well, you just couldn’t see it because it was buried under so much stuff! On the bottom right you can see my daily water glass, which stays on the counter all day long, to be put in the dishwasher when the day is done. Since I’m actually on track with dishes for once in my life, this might actually happen!

So, for today I didn’t do what I was “supposed” to do according to the challenge, but I’m really happy with my progress. I still have a TON of work to do to finish all the areas of my house, but for now I am quite content, and think I’m going to go enjoy a treat with my kiddos and watch a movie. Have a blessed weekend!

About butterflyemily

I'm a stay-at-home mom who loves to be creative. Recently I decided to live my life using more recycled materials and green living ideas.
This entry was posted in organization/cleaning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 21 Day Organizational Challenge – Day 2.5

  1. Carrie says:

    I am SO HAPPY you left that comment about A Bowl Full of Lemons. I had never seen that blog before, it it’s like my cleaner, neater twin. We even have some of the same projects! What a great blog, thanks for letting me know about it!

Leave a Reply

