21 Day Organizational Challenge – Day 3

Today is actually Day 4 for me in the 21 Day Organization Challenge on A Bowl Full of Lemons. I can already see that this is going to take me quite a bit more than the 21 Days as I have a lot more surfaces and areas that need to be organized than what is listed. But, again, I am so happy with how everything is going. Today I did “Day 3 – the Tupperware Cabinet.” For this challenge I also decided to do the baking/cooking stuff cabinet right next to it, as many of the items have spilled into the wrong cabinets and both were a MESS. I hate sharing the “before” shots, since they are pretty embarrassing sharing with the world how my house used to look. But the “after” shots really show how far we have come, and I am determined not to live like that any more. So, out with the old and in with the new. Here are the “before” shots for you:

I would like to point out that they weren’t THIS bad until about the last month, but they were still really bad. We had a lot of wedding presents in there that we never used, lids that didn’t go with any containers,and just random CRAP everywhere. These were definitely on the to-do list.Here is what it all looked like emptied out onto the floor. Yikes!

It was so nice having my hubby home today to help me with this one. He went to the store and bought contact paper and bins for lids, totaling $27, and we have a LOT of contact paper left over to do the rest of the house with. (I need to go back and do that to the junk drawers I did earlier this week, but later…) We got rid of quite a bit of items (seriously, who needs a cake pan in the shape of a number 1?) and grouped everything with like-items. After the hour-plus it took us to get the contact paper down we finally were able to put things away. I tried to keep things I use often toward the front or easy to reach and the stuff I don’t use that often toward to back or more out-of-sight. Here are the “after” shots for you:

Aaaaaahhhhh. Time to breathe a sigh of relief! Everything is easy to reach again! I kept only what I need (and yes, I do need 9 casserole dishes thank-you-very-much). No more worrying about stuff toppling over and breaking, no more sorting through things I don’t ever need again. What a wonderful challenge. I get excited at the possibility of what each new part of this challenge will bring! I’m already feeling more peace in my house with this new cleanliness, and that means more than I ever knew. Bring on Day 4!

About butterflyemily

I'm a stay-at-home mom who loves to be creative. Recently I decided to live my life using more recycled materials and green living ideas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

