21 Day Organization Challenge – Day 4

Well, I would be lying if I didn’t say I kind of got a bit slack on the whole 21 Day Organization Challenge from A Bowl Full of Lemons. But, I would also be lying if I said I didn’t get anything done in the meantime. I have gotten  SO MUCH DONE over the last couple of weeks! My kids and I together cleaned up my son’s room (I was so proud at how much they helped out!), my husband and I painted the master bathroom the lovely toupe color I had (pics to come soon), and our garden was planted. On top of that, I have mostly been keeping up with the things that I already cleaned and organized from the other days, and that is a huge step for me! The only thing I need to take care of is finishing putting down contact paper so I can put the leftovers away. That doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking about the challenge, or gnawing on ideas on how to make it happen and end up how I want it.

Today I wrote a post on Deviantly Domesticated challenging our readers to finish some projects they had started. One of my projects was to finish up the linen closet. Our linen closet it built a little funny, in that the back left corner is a triangle, not a square. This makes it tricky to store anything there, and it was usually bottles or hair ties or other random things that seemed to squeeze their way into the closet. Plus, I apparently didn’t know how to fold a towel or blanket correctly (thank you Youtube for all the tutorials!) so everything was constantly falling out. Add on top of all this that my kids LOVE band-aids, and they would often climb to the topmost shelves to get them, then leave them all over the closet and the bathroom and mess anything up that had been folded. I wish I had a before picture to show you for this one. I promise I took one, but it was on my phone and I think I deleted it by accident when I cleaned out my SD card. Sad day! Let me tell you though, it was awful. (I think my readers can believe me now when I say that because through the other posts on this I have proved that my organization skills truly are awful). But, even without a “before, we can still enjoy an “after,” right? So here you go!

See how pretty it is now? I just loooove it! The top shelf has blankets and throws. The 2nd shelf has bins for hair stuff for my daughter, first aid, other medicine, an empty bin for extra toothpaste and other things for the kids, and a basket to be filled with little soaps, extra toothbrushes, deodorant, and other essentials for when guests come to stay in our home. (This basket will get moved to be on top of the toilet when guests come.) The 3rd and 4th shelves are towels with baskets to hold the hand towels and washcloths. The 5th shelf has baby blankets (I knew I would be needing a place for these when baby comes), extra sheets for the kids’ beds, and pillowcases in the basket. The floor has extra tissue boxes and toilet paper in the big basket. Can you tell  love baskets for this closet? Everything fits together so nicely and looks so pretty all together! I especially love the big basket to house extra toilet paper. All of the baskets were bought at Joann for 50% off and I couldn’t be happier. I have never had an organized linen closet while living on my own, and I love the feeling of it being so clean and easy to maintain. Thank you to A Bowl Full of Lemons, you are keeping me very inspired!

Want to join the challenge at Deviantly Domesticated?

Come be a member with us at stephaniehillberry.com. This site is a great place to have your blog promoted (for free!) and to promote other blogs. Come see who else is in the challenge with us and leave them some love!

About butterflyemily

I'm a stay-at-home mom who loves to be creative. Recently I decided to live my life using more recycled materials and green living ideas.
This entry was posted in organization/cleaning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21 Day Organization Challenge – Day 4

  1. What a great makeover! There’s just something about having nice, organized closets that adds a measure of peace to my day! This is a small thing, but I got a jewelry box for Christmas to organize my accessories (formerly they were all piled on a plate) and I STILL–three months later–sigh a breath of relief when I open the closet door.

    Great job, Emily!

  2. Looks awesome Emily!! I have not committed to take your challenge because 10 days to complete some of the projects I have not started seems daunting. I am more inspired to get moving and start some other projects such as a baby blanket, clean out both of my son’s drawers and find places to put the clothes they are quickly growing out of, and finish my oldest son’s 2nd year scrapbook before he turns three in May! Thank you for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

